AAC : 2015 LSE/GWU/UCSB International Graduate Student Conference on the Cold War

Date et Lieu : 30 avril – 2 mai 2015 à la LSE, Londres.
Deadline : 24 janvier 2015.

LSE IDEAS’ Cold War Studies Programme of the London School of Economics and Political Science (CWSP), the George Washington University Cold War Group (GWCW), and the Center for Cold War Studies (CCWS) of the University of California at Santa Barbara are pleased to announce their 2015 International Graduate Student Conference on the Cold War, to take place at the London School of Economics from 30 April – 2 May 2015.

The conference is an excellent opportunity for graduate students to present papers and receive critical feedback from peers and experts in the field. We encourage submissions by graduate students working on any aspect of the Cold War, broadly defined. Of particular interest are papers that employ newly available primary sources or non-traditional methodologies. To be considered,
each prospective participant should submit a two-page proposal and a brief academic CV (in Word or pdf format) to Luc-André Brunet at l.brunet@lse.ac.uk by 24 January 2015. Notification of acceptance will occur by 16 February.

Successful applicants will be expected to e-mail their papers (no longer than 25 pages) by 17 March. The author of the strongest paper will be awarded the Saki Ruth Dockrill Memorial Prize of £100 to be spent on books in any form. The winner will also have an opportunity to publish his or her article in the journal Cold War History. For further information, please contact Luc-André Brunet at the aforementioned e-mail address.

The conference sessions will be chaired by prominent faculty members from LSE, GWU, UCSB, and elsewhere. The organisers will cover accommodation costs of admitted student participants for the duration of the conference, but students will need to cover the costs of their travel to LSE.

In 2003, UCSB and GW first joined their separate spring conferences, and two years later LSE became a co-sponsor. The three cold war centres now hold a jointly sponsored conference each year, alternating among the three campuses.